Kathleen Creates

No So Deep Thoughts from the Artist In the Basement

Don’t take me seriously December 7, 2007

Filed under: Art,Life,Not so deep thoughts — kathleencreates @ 8:03 pm
Tags: , , , ,

3.5 inch pocket mirrors

I have a bit of a block when it comes to making art.  I am fine making stuff that I know will have some practical use.  Needing to send out thank you cards spurred me to create lots of little pieces that I could re-print.  Next, I thought it would be fun to do a whole series of initials that I could then reprint on little items, like the pocket mirrors I have pictured here (for sale at http://www.beautifullystrange.etsy.com)  It is only when trying to create art that will hang on the wall, that I run out of ideas.  Suddenly, I am hesitant – Not quite sure what I should add, or even where to begin.  Part of me would love to create large pieces of art – great big canvases that serve no other purpose than to look pretty.  But that little voice in my head keeps saying  “Do that and you are suddenly taking yourself so seriously!”  I can’t even bring myself to frame and hang my own stuff, I am so afraid of what that little voice will say.  So instead, I just keep hammering out 5×7 and 8×10 pieces that exist only to be scanned and reprinted.  Really, I have a whole stack here. 

So what to do?  I have ordered mats that will enable me to sell some of my stuff as art for arts sake.  Maybe once I have sold a few I will be ready to let go of the originals and finally take on that sofa sized canvas.  Or maybe not. 

 

5 Responses to “Don’t take me seriously”

  1. Judy H in NC Says:

    Don’t you just love that little inner critic, the creep! You’re inching toward bigger canvases and I’m inching toward doing something on a canvas at all. Go for it! You’re good.

  2. Ang Says:

    Hey you are you ok? Where are you? No art???? I am suffering here.
    Just wanted to pop over and let you know i am missing you.
    did my package arrive?
    ANg

  3. mcdc3s Says:

    These are lovely.
    What a brilliant idea – and so handy & nifty.

    Create your canvas and go for it. xxx

  4. devon Says:

    I took eight years of piano lessons, because I was too afraid to tell my parents that I really wanted to take voice lessons. Eight wasted years, mind you. So now, I’m 27 and taking voice lessons and NOT because I want to be on American Idol. I just don’t want to be 27-and-a-half or 28 or so on, and say, “I wish I would have.” Live big, hang your work, take yourself much too seriously, and silence that nasty little beast of an inner critic. You make gorgeous art, and I can’t wait to see in 5 feet x 7 feet!

  5. lyn lewis Says:

    I have had that same denial of worth, so dont frame the pieces etc but lately I half framed them, in so much as I covered a flat pice of wood with hessian ( burlap?) and then mounted the needle felted collagey things on that way!
    I had such a bizz, because I saw that a standrad frame wouldnt have been appropriate for them? The more casual and less, in your face, frame method was exactly right.
    Go for it, be brave!
    Or maybe lay them altogther on one large piece of wood, graph like , 3 across and 2 down kind of thing lol
    Love your work, the black and white is striking!
    Your trees interesting and colourfurful, no need at all to be in denial woman! get in there!
    Lyn
    in Uk


Leave a Reply

