Kathleen Creates

No So Deep Thoughts from the Artist In the Basement

Feeling a little blocked… October 2, 2007

img427.jpg

A little over a week ago, we put our dog to sleep.  This has left me feeling sorely uncreative (among other things.)  Normally, I would just allow myself time to get through it, knowing that I will eventually be able to get my art on.  My problem is this – my skinny book pages are due soon and I still have a lot to do.  So I am trying to work through it.  Even though I really feel it is not my best work. 

I have made 5 pages and thrown out 2 – something I don’t normally do.  Usually even if a work isn’t what I was going for, I can handle the surprise and make it into something else that I like.  Not this time.  I am veiwing everything with a great big jaundiced eye (not my usual rose colored glasses) and it all looks like crap to me. 

 I can only hope the receipients of these pages don’t agree with me. 

 In the meantime, I am throwing everything I have at this effort.  Paint, sewing, clip art, collage, layers – everything I can think of.   The pics above are of the ones that are dry.  On the left is “glamorous” – I love using this face.  I call her Judith.  The one on the right is a reaction to feeling like my heart is missing a piece since Augie died. 

Kathleen

 

2 Responses to “Feeling a little blocked…”

  1. Christina Says:

    Kathleen, my deepest sympathies to you and the rest of your family. I know all too well what you are going through having been there 7 different times. It is rough. I will say I have had dreams with my fur babies in them and they are happy and happy to see me. I know they are welcoming your fur baby with much love and joy. Please, art under pressure is production not art. I pray your fur baby lets you know some how how happy they are now and out of pain even if you heart feels empty. I send you HUGE hugs and prayers that you feel more and more peace.

  2. Filipa Says:

    Your collages are very beautiful.


Leave a Reply

