Kathleen Creates

No So Deep Thoughts from the Artist In the Basement

Thread sketching is great! September 9, 2007

Filed under: Art,Blogging,Collage,Mixed media,Not so deep thoughts,sewing — kathleencreates @ 2:38 pm

threadsketch.jpg

After seeing the amazing work of my fellow blogger Kelli Perkins  http://ephemeralalchemy.blogspot.com/2007/06/more-thread-sketching.html  I jumped at the chance to take a thread sketching class.  Let me tell you, I am in love!  I was already doing something like this with my applique, but learning the technique has taken my art to a whole other level. 

 In the class, we worked on a sweet little pillow (emphasis on the word sweet) in pinks and purples.  I then was introduced to variegated thread (such a great idea!!) and found a whole new calling.  Look for many more of my pieces/products to feature thread sketching.  In fact, I came home from the class and pulled out two tote bags I had bought at Ikea for embellishing (Love the cheapness of Ikea.)  I sat down and gave them a good painting to which I will add thread sketching.  I just have to go back to the store for more variegated thread (look at all the pretty colors…)

 The pic above is of the front of the pillow I worked on in class.  As I am not much for pillows, I will probably turn this into a purse and offer it for sale on Etsy.  If I make a little money, I can buy more stuff to do more thread sketching!  (Have I mentioned I love thread sketching?)

 

4 Responses to “Thread sketching is great!”

  1. OH! That is so nice!

  2. Velma Says:

    Oooooh very pretty. I love it!

  3. lila Says:

    I just tried this today on a watercolor after reading kelli’s article in “Cloth,Paper,Scissors” magazine. I does make you fall in love, doesn’t it?
    I’ll be back where I have a camera and scanner later this week and I’ll be posting somethink I have done with black thread. Fun!


Leave a Reply

