Kathleen Creates

No So Deep Thoughts from the Artist In the Basement

Art is everywhere July 3, 2007

Filed under: Art,Collage,Journal,Mixed media,Not so deep thoughts — kathleencreates @ 6:26 pm

Funerary Art

I just signed up for a skinny book swap with Chrysti Hydeck ( http://www.alteredabbey.com/shop/) a member of one of my altered art groups.  Not sure why, but this sent me on a creative journey using funerary art. 

When I first moved to DC, I would drive up Rock Creek parkway every day and catch a glimpse of the back of a very old cemetery.  Years later, I happened to find the entrance only to discover that they do not allow photographs.  The monuments are spectacular and the paths wind through tree covered lanes past the most amazing statues and markers you have ever seen.  I was sorely tempted, but I couldn’t bring myself to violate their rules.  Later on, I found out that Eleanor Roosevelt, during her husband’s presidency, loved to sit on a certain bench in this cemetery and contemplate her deepest thoughts. 

So, a few weeks ago, I was wandering around DC trying to find Congressional Cemetery when I stumbled upon another beautiful graveyard full of amazing statues and lovely markers.  I took photos until my camera batteries died and can’t wait to go back and get more.  I have used these photos for the above art journal as well as some of my skinny book pages which are not quite finished.  Hope you enjoy.

Kathleen

 

Leave a Reply

