Kathleen Creates

No So Deep Thoughts from the Artist In the Basement

To blog or not to blog? June 18, 2007

Filed under: Art,Blogging,Collage,Journal,Life,Mixed media,Not so deep thoughts — kathleencreates @ 12:55 pm

img2903.jpg

In my quest for a meaningful life, I have embraced the mixed media artist persona.  That being said, the groups I have joined are full of “members who blog.” (Is this the new “Ladies who lunch?”)   Every few times I post a message to my group, I am asked “Do you have a blog?”  That question has always made me wonder “Why do you ask?”  Am I so interesting that you want to hear more from me?  Or is it that you wish I would quit taking up space on a message board?  The answer lies probably somewhere in between.

 So I have toyed with the idea of starting a blog, weighing the pros and cons.  Pro – It gives me a space to display my art.  Con – I will need to post frequently to keep it relavant.  Pro – Blogging may help me to immortilize my thoughts.  Con – Do I really want to immortalize my thoughts?  Pro – My brain is so full, I need a little space to organize my ideas.  Con – My brain is so full, there is no telling what will come out.  In the end, the need to create outweighs all.  Therefore, I must blog.

Kathleen

 

8 Responses to “To blog or not to blog?”

  1. Kirsten Says:

    Kathleen – I’m glad you decided to blog! I have some of the same feelings you mentioned, but in the end it is like a digital journal for me. I like to be able to go back into the archives and see what I was up to. I think my small group of family and friends who read it enjoy being able to check up on what I am doing, as well. Have fun!

  2. CallaVisage Says:

    Hurray!
    I’m glad you have a place to call your own.

  3. Adrienne Says:

    Got your message from the art exchange group, I love the background of your page, how can I find something like that, mine is so boring.

  4. Carol Cot Says:

    Kathleen, I also struggle with whether to create a blog. I’m terrible at keeping a journal. Only recently found joy in documenting events,feelings etc in a Visual Journal. Guess I could do it in a blog but I like the tactile nature of creating backgrounds on paper, embellishing with images etc and then writing either in single words/thoughts or diary style. I’d be interested in hearing about how it goes for you here digitally.

  5. Kelly Romeo Says:

    “I blog, therefore I am” . . . I think it’s great!!

  6. Spike Says:

    Blogging is *LIKE* journalling in that both are organized by date, and are a record of your thoughts and ideas as you move through time.

    However, blogging can be a two-sided conversation, whereas journalling is never more than talking to yourself. Blogging straddles journalling and corresponding.

  7. Angie Says:

    Welcome to the blogging community. I’m sure after a while you’ll wonder how you went without a blog for so long. I started mine just a couple of months ago. I find it so inspiring to get in the studio and make something so I’ll have something to post. I hope it’s the same for you.

  8. Filipa Says:

    Very nice work!!


Leave a Reply

